Countywide Integrated Waste Management Plan

The Countywide Integrated Waste Management Plan (CIWMP) was prepared in accordance with the California Integrated Waste Management Act of 1989, Chapter 1095 (AB 939).  AB 939 redefined solid waste management in terms of both objectives and planning responsibilities for local jurisdictions and the state.  AB 939 was adopted in an effort to reduce the volume and toxicity of solid waste that is landfilled and incinerated by requiring local governments to prepare and implement plans to improve the management of waste resources.

AB 939 requires each of the cities and unincorporated portions of counties throughout the state to divert a minimum of 25% by 1995 and 50% of the solid waste landfilled by the year 2000.  To attain these goals for reductions in disposal, AB 939 established a planning hierarchy utilizing new integrated solid waste management practices.

The CIWMP, in its entirety, is comprised of the Countywide Summary Plan; the Countywide Siting Element; and the Source Reduction and Recycling Elements (SRRE's), Household Hazardous Waste Elements (HHWE's), and Nondisposal Facility Elements (NDFE's) for Unincorporated Riverside County and each of the cities in Riverside County.

  • Countywide Summary Plan:  The Countywide Summary Plan contains goals and policies, as well as a summary of integrated waste management issues faced by the County and its cities.  The Summary Plan summarizes the steps needed to cooperatively implement programs among the County’s jurisdictions to meet and maintain the 50% diversion mandates.
  • Countywide Siting Element:  The Countywide Siting Element demonstrates that there are at least 15 years of remaining disposal capacity to serve all the jurisdictions within the County.  If there is not adequate capacity, a discussion of alternative disposal sites and additional diversion programs must be included in the Siting Element.
  • Source Reduction and Recycling Element (SRRE):  The SRRE analyzes the local wastestream to determine where to focus diversion efforts, including programs and funding.  A separate SRRE was developed by Unincorporated Riverside County and each of the cities in Riverside County.
  • Household Hazardous Waste Element (HHWE):  The HHWE provides a framework for recycling, treatment and disposal practices for Household Hazardous Waste programs.  A separate HHWE was developed by Unincorporated Riverside County and each of the cities in Riverside County.
  • Non-Disposal Facility Element (NDFE):  The NDFE identifies and describes, at a minimum, existing and proposed facilities, other than landfills and transformation facilities, requiring a solid waste permit to operate.  Nondisposal facilities are also those facilities that will be used by a jurisdiction to implement its SRRE in order to meet its diversion goals.  A separate NDFE was developed by Unincorporated Riverside County and each of the cities in Riverside County.

Each jurisdiction must provide an Annual Report Summary to CalRecycle.  In addition, Riverside County provides a Five-Year Review Report to provide an update on the CIWMP status for the entire county, including each jurisdiction.

The CIWMP; five-year reports; and Unincorporated Riverside County’s SRRE, HHWE, NDFE, and annual reports are located in the table below.  To access other jurisdictions’ SRRE, HHWE, NDFE and annual reports, contact that jurisdiction directly.

Cities within Riverside County include: Banning, Beaumont, Blythe, Calimesa, Canyon Lake, Cathedral City, Coachella, Corona, Desert Hot Springs, Eastvale, Hemet, Indian Wells, Indio, Jurupa Valley, Lake Elsinore, La Quinta, Menifee, Moreno Valley, Murrieta, Norco, Palm Desert, Palm Springs, Perris, Rancho Mirage, Riverside, San Jacinto, Temecula, and Wildomar.


Planning Documents (pdf)

Waste Recycling Plan - Form B (English)(Spanish)

Waste Reporting - Form C (English)(Spanish)

C&D Recyclers